Sunday, June 8, 2014

Fixtures and Results 08-06-2014

Wexford and District Womens and Schoolgirls League 08-06-2014


Under Fourteen Premier Division Play Off

Cloughbawn    0          Kilmore United           1

These two sides progressed through their league campaign unbeaten, eventually finishing level on points and requiring a play off to decide the premier title. The sides had drawn in both their league games so this match was always going to be tight and for the early part of the game, both sides cancelled each other out, creating only the minimum amount of chances. The breakthrough eventually came early in the second half when Rachel Bennett broke through and slotted the ball past the Cloughbawn keeper to give Kilmore the lead. Despite Cloughbawn’s best efforts to get back on level terms, Kilmore held on to secure the premier title and complete the league and cup double. League vice chairman Barry Dempsey was on hand to present the trophy to the winning squad who showed their dominance at this age group by going through the season unbeaten


Womens Premier Division  Runners Up Play Off

Adamstown    2          Tramore           1

The home side secured runners up spot in the premier division when they overcame a battling Tramore side who worked hard but eventually went down 2-1. Vanessa Ogbonna gave the visitors the lead but Adamstown bombarded the Tramore goal and with ten minutes to go SJ Flood grabbed the equaliser and five minutes later, Ann Marie Dunphy struck the winner with a magnificent volley from her own half of the field. This crowned off a good season for the Adamstown side who as well as securing second in the league,had also reached the Wexford Cup Final where they were just beaten 1-0 by Ferns.


Divisional Top Scorers and Players of the Year

Friday June 20th will see the league hold its annual presentation night in the Riverbank Hotel, Wexford where divisional top scorer awards and divisional player of the year awards will be presented to the relevant winners.

Top scorer awards will be presented to the following

Premier Division: Leona Breen (Ferns United)

Division One: Sinead Ryan (New Ross Town)

Division Two A: Caitriona Murray (Castledockrell United)

Division Two B: Amie Gaffney (Cushinstown) and Lauren Sinnott (Bree United)

Player of the Year awards winners are

Premier Division: Lisa Dower (Benfica)

Division One: Roisin O Connor (Killenagh Wan)

Division Two A: Celine Slye (Bunclody AFC)

Division Two B: Anna Power (Cushinstown)

Wexford Youths Women will also receive their awards on the night of player of the year, top scorer and young player of the year.


          Wexford win Gaynor Plate for second time in three years
A gruelling seven games in three days saw the Wexford Schoolgirls League Under Fourteen squad win the Gaynor Plate as they overcame near neighbours Waterford in a thrilling final last Monday. The tournament kicked off on Saturday with a 4-1 win over Longford with Britney Conroy (2), Fiona Ryan and Amy Wilson all on target in a comfortable win. Despite controlling long periods of the second game against Inishowen, Wexford did not take their chances and with three minutes to go disaster struck when the girls from the North West scored to snatch all three points. The final game on Saturday evening, Wexford came up against a very strong Galway side and although Amy Wilson scored a free kick, the Western girls won 3-1 and actually went on to win the Gaynor Cup when they beat the Metropolitan Girls League 1-0 in the final.

Sunday saw Wexford bounce back to winning ways with a 4-1 win over Clare with Britney Conroy (2), Hannah Keating and Aoife Devereux all on target. This was followed by another 4-1 win, this time against Kerry and the win was enough to move Wexford from fourth to second in the group and a place in the semi finals of the Plate competition. Two goals each from Britney Conroy and Aoife Devereux saw Wexford secure their third win of the tournament.

A tough semi final against a strong Mayo side could have went either way but Wexford showed great spirit and determination to progress to their third Plate final in a row when Fiona Ryan scored the only goal of the game. Indeed it was the only goal of the four semi finals that were played in the Cup and Plate as the other three games all ended scoreless and went to penalties to decide the winners.

Wexford faced neighbours Waterford in the Plate final and after a scoreless first half, disaster struck early in the second half when Waterford went 1-0 ahead. However, despite showing signs of tiredness after three tough days of soccer, Wexford levelled when Amy Wilson sent a free kick to the back of the net and the game looked to be heading to extra time. In a dramatic finish, Sarah Harding Kenny was taken down in the area in the final minute after a great run from midfield and Amy Wilson showed a calmness beyond her years to slot home the resultant penalty and give Wexford victory.

Congratulations to all involved as this dedicated management team and panel worked very hard to achieve this success and it showed great character to lift the Plate that they last won in 2012. The management and players would like to thank the Talbot Hotel Wexford for their sponsorship and a word of thanks to all the parents and supporters who travelled to University of Limerick for the weekend.


Wexford Squad: Sarah o Brien Caoimhe Byrne Chloe Mythen (capt) Sarah Harding Kenny Leah Furlong Suzi Byrne Emily Bates Niamh Browne Kate Murphy Aoife Devereux Hannah Keating Eimear Mernagh Britney Conroy Elaine O Sullivan Connell Fiona Ryan Rachel Bennett Ann Marie Bennett Amy Wilson Lauren Roche Niamh Taylor Hughes
Manager: Barry Dempsey

Assistant Manager: Michael Bennett

Coaches: Laura Heffernan and Rianna Jarrett
Minders Amy Walsh Jessica Gleeson


Fixture: Sunday June 15th: Under Sixteen Premier Division

Curracloe United v Killenagh Wan    3pm

Sunday, June 1, 2014

Result and Fixture 01-06-2014

Wexford and District Womens and Schoolgirls League 01-06-2014

By Peter Doyle


Womens Premier Division Runners Up Play Off Semi Final

Tramore FC     4          Benfica LFC   3

Benfica raced into a 3-1 lead in this play off tie against local rivals Tramore but a strong second half performance from the home side saw them fight back to win 4-3. Two goals from Beserta AJeti and one from Brianne O Connor had Benfica ahead but two goals from Vanessa Ogbonna and one each from Orla Hickey and Roisin Hickey saw Tramore earn a play off with Adamstown for runners up spot next Sunday


Under Sixteen Premier Division

The final match of the Under Sixteen Premier Division has been put back to Saturday June 21st due to the large number of players from both Curracloe and Killenagh sitting the Junior Cert


Fixtures: Thursday June 5th: Under Fourteen Premier Play Off

Cloughbawn v Kilmore United          7pm in New Ross Town


Sunday June 8th: Womens Premier Division Runners Up Play Off Final

Adamstown v Tramore FC     11am